Eleven Fundamental Duties incorporated in the Constitution by the 42nd Amendment Act in 1976


Fundamental Duties


These are in the form of duties and responsibilities of citizens. ‘The original Constitution which came into force with effect from 26th January, 1950 did not contain Fundamental Duties. These were incorporated in the Constitution by the 42nd Amendment Act in 1976. The Constitution states eleven Fundamental Duties as given below:

1. Respect for the Constitution and its ideals and institutions, the National Flag and the National Anthem.

2. To follow and cherish the noble ideals which inspired our National Struggle for freedom.

3. To uphold and protect the sovereignty, unity and integrity of India.

4. To defend the country and render national service when called upon to do so.

5. To promote harmony and spirit of common brotherhood amongst all the people of India, transcending
religious, linguistic, regional or sectional diversities, to renounce practices derogatory to the dignity of women.

6. To value and preserve the rich heritage of our composite culture.

7. To protect and improve the natural environment including forests, lakes, rivers and wildlife and have compassion on living creatures.

8. To develop the scientific temper, humanism and the spirit of inquiry and reform.

9. To safeguard public property and to abjure from violence.

10. To strive towards excellence in all spheres of individual and collective activity, so that the nation constantly rises to higher levels of endeavour and achievements.

11. To provide opportunities for education by the parent and guardian to their child or ward upto the age of 14 years.

Share this article

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *